Nicole DESCLOUX Bowmaker

Bowmaker

Nicole Descloux began her training as a bowmaker apprenticed to Roger-François Lotte
in the city of Mirecourt, the cradle of the modern bow, thus carrying on the tradition
which is the pride and joy of the French school of bow-making.
She has been crafting bows for the quartet of string instruments
– violin, viola, cello and double bass – since 1993.
Nicole Descloux, bowmaker

Nicole Descloux, bowmaker

Nicole Descloux makes bows for professional musicians and students at music academies alike.

She will listen to each of them and give them the time needed to fine-tune their bow according to their touch and to their expectations.

In turn, she draws inspiration from the musicians’ comments on the way their bow feels when they play: “strong attack”, “high degree of precision”, “stable, reliable, good hold, sensitive”, “the bow is both flexible and responsive, and sticks to the string from frog to tip”, “it plays by itself”,  “warm, generous sound” – those are the qualities sought by Nicole and quoted time and again by the artists who use her bows.

Workshop

Nicole Descloux welcomes you in her workshop in Bourg-de-Péage,
deep in the countryside and yet a mere 10 minutes away from Valence TGV train station.
The garden she tends is an invitation to listen
– to the musicians, their instruments and what they expect.

Bows

Modern bows

From listening to bow-making

Every time she sets about designing a new bow, Nicole Descloux aims to endow it with all the qualities sought by the musician.
The bow should have a refined shape, in the spirit of the French school, be reliable and comfortable, and produce a sound rich in harmonics.

A dialogue with the artist is an absolute prerequisite to crafting a beautiful, reliable bow that will meet their needs and expectations.
Most of Nicole’s bows are thus made to order. However, the artist is not required to commit to buying the bow until all the fine-tuning and the trial period have been satisfactorily completed.

Fine-tuning with and for Raphaël Oleg
has greatly helped me to master
this essential technique.
”, says Nicole.

Baroque bows

From modern bow to baroque bow?
An ongoing exploration...

Nicole Descloux has added yet another string to her bow. Since 2012, she has been experimenting with baroque bows at the request of Florence Malgoire, solo violinist with the Orchestre des Arts Florissants.

United in their quest for a sound that is generous, round and reliable, both musician and bowmaker aim to tailor modern bow-making experience to the specific needs of baroque music performers and their instruments.

Click on the thumbnails to display details

Violin bow Violin
bow
Violin bow Violin
bow
Viola bow Viola
bow
Cello bow Cello
bow
Double bass bow Double bass
bow
Baroque Violin Bow Baroque
Violon Bow
Baroque Celo Bow Baroque
Cello Bow
Bows for the string Quartet Bows for the
string Quartet

Musicians

In Lyon, Toulouse, Bordeaux, Paris, Geneva and Basel,
many orchestra string players use Nicole’s creations...
There are many soloists among the artists who have entrusted her
with their wishes – and they keep coming back.
Raphaël Oleg
Raphaël Oleg

Raphaël Oleg

Nicole Descloux crafts unique bows which reflect her gift for truly listening to musicians’ wishes, in a quest for perfection that is constant and passionate. She is the bridge, the link, the juncture where the raw material awaiting discovery meets the hand of the artist who will ease its vibration and emotion into this world. Her bows have been my companions for many years now and I am very pleased to recommend her talent and wonderful skills. Raphaël Oleg

Anne Gastinel
Anne Gastinel

Anne Gastinel

I fell in love with Nicole’s bows a long time ago. The quality and the beauty of the wood; the warm sound; the sensitivity; the suppleness and the ease of use. Nicole’s bows are generous and filled with light – like her.
Dear Nicole, thank you for your passion and your modesty, thank you for sharing your knowledge so generously with all the musicians you meet.Anne Gastinel

Nicolas Gourbeix
Nicolas Gourbeix

Nicolas Gourbeix

At long last, thanks to Nicole, I have found the bow which allows me to forget the bow, faithfully transmitting to the string all my intentions – good and less inspired alike! It is heaven to play with a bow both firm and supple, sensitive and stable. And what a sound! Her newly available baroque bow in pernambuco wood is a delight to play, especially Bach, even on my modern strings. A thousand thanks, Nicole, and congratulations! Nicolas Gourbeix, solo violonist, super soloist, orchestre national de l'opéra de Lyon

Pavel Hůla
Pavel Hůla

Pavel Hůla

It is thanks to my friends from Prazak Quatuor that I met Nicole. I first admired the bows for their manufacturing precision, but later when I had the opportunity to try those bows, I immediately admired the beautiful sonority – very clear and the lightness when playing. It must be said that I use to own a very beautiful ancient Sartory bow that suited me very well. But quite soon I decided to order also that bow to Nicole. On top of that I could also visit her nice workshop in Provence and I am delighted now to be able to use every day the bow that is a real art object to me.Pavel Hůla, former first violin of Prazak Quatuor, art director of the praga Camerata – Translated from French

The Quatuor Pražák
The Quatuor Pražák
www.prazakquartet.com

The Quatuor Pražák

I am very happy to join the Prazak Quartet, not only to play with, but also to have the same high quality violin bow made by Nicole Descloux. This bow was made for me in 2016/2017 and it complies to all my expectations. It is firm and supple at the same time.
I am very grateful and wish you all the very best and many more such wonderful bows, Nicole ! Jana Vonášková, first violin

The bow I now play is one of the finest I have ever heard – it is perfectly balanced and the workmanship is beautiful. Vlastimil Holek, second violin

One by one, we followed the example of our cellist, Michal, and bought bows crafted by Nicole. It’s not often that a whole quartet agrees on the same choice of bow, which speaks to their high degree of homogeneity and quality. Josef Klusoň, alto violin

Playing with Nicole’s bow makes me very happy for several reasons. Firstly, it’s very stable and flexible. Mind you, these are qualities all well-made bows should have, but thanks to Nicole’s personal touch, the bow has a very clear sound and it is pleasing to look at.
I always enjoy using it. Thank you, Nicole, and good luck with your work. Michal Kaňka, cello (website)

Contact

Every time an artist requests a bow, a fresh possibility opens for us to work together,
nurturing my wish to go further and further in the quest
for the best instrument in the service of music and musicians.
I am not taking any further orders for the moment.

Nicole DESCLOUX Fabrication d'archets

L'Archetière

Formée à Mirecourt, dans la ville berceau de l'archet moderne,
apprentie de Roger-François Lotte, Nicole Descloux s'inscrit dans la tradition
qui fait la réputation de l'école française d'archèterie.
Depuis 1993, elle fabrique des archets pour le quatuor des instruments
à cordes, violon, alto, violoncelle et contrebasse.
Nicole Descloux, archetière

Nicole Descloux, archetière

Nicole Descloux œuvre aussi bien pour les interprètes confirmés que pour les élèves des conservatoires se destinant à la carrière musicale.

À chacun, elle assure les temps d'écoute et d'ajustement nécessaires à la confection d'un archet en accord avec le jeu et ses attentes.

En retour, l'expression de leurs sensations de jeu par les artistes nourrit le travail de l'archetière : « beaucoup d'attaque », « grande précision de jeu », « stabilité, sûreté, tenue, réactivité », « un archet à la fois souple et nerveux qui tient la corde du talon à la pointe », « il joue tout seul »,  « un son chaud et généreux », autant de qualités recherchées par Nicole Descloux et souvent décrites par les artistes qui témoignent de son travail.

L'atelier

Nicole Descloux vous accueille dans l'atelier qu'elle a créé à Bourg-de-Péage,
en pleine nature et à dix minutes seulement de la gare Valence-TGV.
Au cœur du jardin qu'elle cultive, le lieu est propice à l'écoute :
celle des musiciens comme celle de leurs instruments et de leurs attentes.

Les archets

Archets modernes

De l'écoute à l'archet

Pour chaque nouvel archet, Nicole Descloux cherche à réaliser la synthèse des qualités souhaitées par l’artiste : raffinement des lignes dans l’esprit de l'école française, ergonomie et fiabilité, richesse harmonique du son.

Fabriquer un bel outil, fiable, qui répond aux attentes du musicien, passe par un échange de qualité avec l’artiste. Aussi Nicole Descloux réalise-t-elle ses archets sur commande, principalement. L'engagement d'achat ne se conclut toutefois qu'après tous les réglages et temps d'essai requis.

« Les réglages réalisés pour et avec
Raphaël Oleg m’ont été précieux pour acquérir
la maîtrise de cette étape essentielle du travail
 »,
témoigne Nicole.

Archets baroques

De l'archet moderne à l'archet baroque ?
Une recherche en cours...

À la réalisation d'archets modernes, Nicole Descloux ajoute désormais la confection d'archets baroques selon une recherche entreprise en 2012 avec Florence Malgoire, violon solo de l’orchestre des Arts Florissants, à la demande de la violoniste.

Adapter l'expérience acquise en archèterie moderne aux besoins spécifiques des interprètes et instruments de la musique baroque : c'est là le projet de ces deux femmes, l'artiste et son archetière, mues par la même quête d'un son généreux, rond et sûr.

Cliquez sur les miniatures pour afficher les détails

Archet Violon Archet de
Violon
Archet Violon Archet de
Violon
Archet Alto Archet
d'Alto
Archet Violoncelle Archet de
Violoncelle
Archet Contrebasse Archet de
Contrebasse
Archets Quatuor Archets du
Quatuor

Les Musiciens

Les orchestres de Lyon, Toulouse, Bordeaux, Paris, Genève, Bâle...
jouent plusieurs de ses réalisations dans leurs pupitres de cordes.
Au nombre des artistes qui lui ont confié leurs attentes
et qui sont fidèles à son travail on compte de nombreux solistes.
Raphaël Oleg
Raphaël Oleg

Raphaël Oleg

Dans sa quête passionnée d'une perfection évoluant sans cesse, Nicole Descloux confectionne des archets uniques qui traduisent bien sa qualité d'écoute des aspirations des musiciens. Elle est le pont, le lien, le point de jonction entre le matériau brut demandant à être révélé et la main de celle ou celui qui donnera naissance à la vibration, vectrice d'émotion. Ses archets me tiennent compagnie depuis bien des années et c'est avec plaisir que je recommande son adresse (à comprendre dans les deux sens du terme…). Raphaël Oleg

Anne Gastinel
Anne Gastinel

Anne Gastinel

J'aime les archets de Nicole depuis longtemps. La qualité et la beauté de leur bois. Leur chaleur de son. Leur réactivité. Leur souplesse et leur maniabilité.
Les archets de Nicole sont lumineux et généreux. A l'image de ce qu'elle est.
Chère Nicole, merci de toute la passion et l'humilité que tu mets au service de ton art, animée aussi toujours par le désir du partage avec les musiciens que tu rencontres.Anne Gastinel

Nicolas Gourbeix
Nicolas Gourbeix

Nicolas Gourbeix

Avec l'archet que m'a fait Nicole, j'ai enfin trouvé l'archet qui me fait oublier l'archet. Il transmet fidèlement à la corde toutes mes demandes… les bonnes… les mauvaises aussi ! C'est un vrai bonheur de jouer avec cet archet à la fois ferme et souple, nerveux et stable. Et quel son ! Et puis il y a depuis peu le modèle baroque en pernambouc, qui est un vrai régal dans Bach notamment, même avec mes cordes modernes. Mille mercis et bravo à toi Nicole. Nicolas Gourbeix, violon solo, super soliste, orchestre national de l'opéra de Lyon

Le Quatuor Pražák
Le Quatuor Pražák
www.prazakquartet.com

Le Quatuor Pražák

Au cours de ma première répétition avec les Prazak, j’ai pu constater que tous avaient en main un archet de même facture. J´ai d’abord admiré le travail précis de ces objets, mais plus tard quand j’ai pu à mon tour les essayer, j´ai admiré tout autant le beau son – très clair, offrant aussi une légèreté de jeu. Il faut dire que je possédais déjà un très bel archet ancien, un Sartory, qui me convenait très bien. Mais j´ai décidé très vite de commander aussi un archet moderne à Nicole Descloux. De plus j’ai eu l’occasion de visiter son bel atelier en Provence et je suis ravi maintenant de pouvoir jouer chaque jour ce nouvel archet qui me semble être un véritable objet d´art. Pavel Hůla, premier violon

L’archet que je joue actuellement est un des meilleurs que j’aie jamais entendu : il est parfaitement équilibré et c’est aussi du très beau travail. Vlastimil Holek, deuxième violon

Les uns après les autres, nous avons suivi l’exemple de Michal, le violoncelliste, et acquis tour à tour un archet confectionné par Nicole. C’est assez rare qu’un quatuor au complet s’accorde sur un tel choix, ce qui est un gage d’homogénéité et de grande qualité des archets en question. Josef Klusoň, alto

Je suis très heureux de pouvoir jouer avec l’archet de Nicole. Ceci pour plusieurs raisons. D’abord, cet archet est très stable et souple en même temps. Ce sont des qualités qui devraient être propres à tous les bons archets, c’est vrai. Mais celui de Nicole a encore quelque chose de différent des autres : à savoir une sonorité très claire et un aspect unique ! Pour moi, c’est toujours un grand plaisir de m’en servir. Merci Nicole et bon courage dans ton prochain travail. Michal Kaňka, violoncelle (site web)

Contact

Chaque demande exprimée par l'instrumentiste crée une nouvelle
collaboration qui à son tour nourrit le désir d'aller plus loin, toujours plus
loin dans ma quête du meilleur outil au service de la musique et des musiciens.
Nicole Mamet-Descloux
Côte de Beauregard
26300 Bourg-de-Péage
04 75 02 94 67
06 98 15 78 78
contact@nicoledescloux.com

Mentions légales

Propriété du site

Le site NicoleDescloux.com est édité par Nicole Descloux, enregistrée sous le numéro de SIRET n°42288054200010

Nicole Descloux
Côte de Beauregard
26300 Bourg-de-Péage
04 75 02 94 67

Réalisation du site

Maquette graphique : Mylène Bressan
Intégration, développement & référencement : Spheerys

Hébergement

Le site est hébergé par l'entreprise Spheerys.

Spheerys
6 rue du Pressoir
11190 Luc-sur-Aude

04 86 51 73 00

Crédit photos

Toutes les photos du site, à l'exception de celles des musiciens, ont été prises par Eric Pizzato.
Photo du Quatuor Pražák prise par Guy Vivien.
Photo de Raphaël Oleg prise par Jacques Fustier.
Photo d'Anne Gastinel par Léa Crespi/Naïve.
Photo de Nicolas Gourbeix prise par Michel Gourbeix.

Toute reproduction interdite sauf ayants droits.

Textes

Les textes du site (hors témoignages des musiciens écrits par eux-mêmes) ont été rédigés par Laure Léveillé.